Knife construction question - tang, guard, pommel

Hello,

I'm a novice and would like to get a nice, big, fixed blade knife.

From my research I've determined that a one piece steel construction would be best - blade, guard, tang, pommel. Is this correct?

When looking at manufacturers' description on the web - how can I determine a knife's construction?

Also, what is a "tapered tang" compared to a "full tang"?

Thanks for the help.

you are probably correct on one piece construction, but for what is likely 98% of normal use, it's not required IMO.

If it's not listed ask the seller, I imagine there are very few fixed blades where EVERYTHING is all one piece. ( Or you could look at Reeve fixed blades :) )

Generally, a full tang is the full thickness of the stock the knife was made from for its entire length. A tapered tang is thicker at the guard than it is at the pommel, which moves the balance point toward the blade.

Also, when the term "full tang" is used, it usually also denotes that the tang is the entire width of the handle, as opposed to a "stick tang" which runs through the handle material, but is completely surrounded by the material.

So one can have a full stick tang (like the old Marine Kabar), a full tang (like the old Western bowie), a full tapered tang (usually found only on custom knives), or even (although I don't know of any) a full length tapered stick tang.

Don't you just love knife terminology? :D

To try to add to the good information abive:

A guard, bolster, or butt machined or forged to be of one piece with the blade and tang could be designated as "integral." Sometimes they say "one piece."

If the guard, bolster, or butt is welded (not soldered) to the blade and tang, the difference in strength could be zero.

A "full length" tang may be full width, or not.