Knife customization...who 'ya gonna' call?

Definitely not "Ghost busters"! But, let's just say you have this idea for customizing one of your knives and you would like to have a knife maker/advanced hobbyist handle your customization needs instead of doing it yourself. Who would do the work? In my case, I'm an intermediate Dremel artist unwilling to ruin anything I like very much, like this particular Spyderco 3/4 size stainless Jess Horn. I would like to have some thumb grooves put on the "hump" above the opening hole and some index finger grooves in the stainless handle just before the blade. I would also like some deburring done to the inside edges of the handle and the entire knife buffed & finished nicely. It has to look like it came from the factory that way, as I like good work only. Who would do that for me?

------------------

savsport@aeroinc.net

AKTI Member #A000094

Honey, I swear that's the last knife I'm going to buy...

[This message has been edited by Savman (edited 26 July 1999).]

For Benchmade modifications I had Drew Gleason (Corduroy) modify my Stryker and he did quite a good job. I will be posting pics when I get them developed.

He did file work, jeweling, put a carbon fiber handle on it, adding screws and brass spacers and customized my pocket clip complete with my initials in gold. Quite a nice looking knife.

Got a BM you want modified check out what Drew can do for you.

------------------
~Greg~

Frank Recupero has just finished a project for me. I have not seen the product yet as it gets shipped today, but I will say that Frank has been a pleasure to work with and very fast. This thread will still be active when the box arrives later this week and I'll let you know.

Chuck

Thanks for the info Frank & Greg! Gollnick, I would be interested to know how your knife looks when you receive it. Anyone else have ideas or sources?

Kevin Gentile

He is under Knifehead at www.ghca.org

And mentioned in my review.

------------------