Knife questions for Jeff Randall?

I know you are probably bored to tears of 'em but here goes.

How do you think an indonesian barong would do in the jungles of peru?(better than a standard machete?)

Between Newt's air assualt and Top's stormrider which one would you rather have if there can only be one?(I know you got to be nice to both)

What do you think of Busse knives for the jungle? (do you think the steel heart 2 is big enough to replace a true machete?)

Sorry there are so many?
thanks chris

How do you think an indonesian barong would do in the jungles of peru?(better than a standard machete?)

That one I can't answer because I've never used one before.

Between Newt's air assualt and Top's stormrider which one would you rather have if there can only be one?(I know you got to be nice to both)

Being nice is not the issue, being honest is. If I felt either one of the maker's blades were not up to a particular task I would say it if asked. Newt Livesay is a close friend of mine, Mike Fuller is also a new found friend. Both gentlemen have the highest degree of integrity in my opinion and would not get upset if I said 'Hey, this new widget knife ain't worth a sh** in the jungle'
smile.gif

Now to answer your question. I would not be underknifed with either piece. I believe the TOPS would take more lateral force, but the Air Assault is a better slasher. As far as edge holding they run about equal from what I could see.

Now to really answer your question, if I were skinning I would much rather have the Air Assault, if I were chopping and doing heavy work, I would prefer the TOPS.

Now to absolutley answer your question, I can't because each one serves the user for different tasks. If I had to pick only one, I would close my eyes, flip a coin, go with whatever came up, and feel comfortable.

What do you think of Busse knives for the jungle? (do you think the steel heart 2 is big enough to replace a true machete?)