knife shrinkage???

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by matlocc, Jan 16, 2019.

1. matlocc

matlocc

Jan 29, 2016
    I am very new to this and have probably made about five knives. I seem to have a problem after cutting out a blank, when grinding my knives seem to shrink down quite a bit. Is there any secret to not over grinding? Usually (no pun here) the length goes down by a half to an inch. Any help?

2. Ian Fifelski

Ian Fifelski

Oct 4, 2017
    Do you mean that you grind so far that you grind to an edge and past that, losing material by the edge?

You just need to keep a close eye on where your grind is going and adjust the angle as needed. Go slow.

3. Robert Erickson

Robert Erickson KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Feb 2, 2014
    Don't grind your knives in a cold swimming pool :D

In all seriousness I'm not sure what you're asking. Do you have photos? Steel won't shrink 1/2" to 1" without you grinding that amount off.

autogateman, Tim Pollack and LCoop like this.
  4. Ken H>

Ken H>

Dec 31, 2011
    I think what the OP is saying, during the grinding process he winds up grinding off more than planned making the blade shorter than desired. Simple over grinding to remove uh-ohs that happen. The cure is practice, and more practice.

5. Bill DeShivs

Bill DeShivs KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jun 6, 2000
    Or, cut your blanks longer......

Coy Ranch, LCoop, AVigil and 2 others like this.
  6. mete

mete

Jun 10, 2003
    Shrinkage is an improper term here !
    Typical use of growth or shrinkage in steels involve changes in crystal structure not mistakes in grinding !

Don Hanson III likes this.
  7. tr3yanderson

tr3yanderson

Mar 6, 2017
    No, I get what he is saying I was trying to grind out my first camping knife and it definitely shrunk, all I got out of it was a small paring knife...