Latch on the wrong side?

Hello all, I'm new to balisongs, just got my first one to see if I would like them. It's a Jaguar with black inlay in the handles and a weehawk blade. I'm enjoying flipping this thing but it seems to me that the latch is on the wrong side. In my mind, the latch should be on the side of the knife that has the unsharpened area. This way, the latch can be dropped with the pinkie finger on the flippin hand and the proper handle will already be in your palm. Unless I'm not doing something right, which is very PROBABLE since I'm learning this on my own. That just seems more natural and much faster to me anyway. Of course, when I do that and flip it over my hand, the other handle hits my finger first, which is good, then when I spin and re-flip... OUCH!! the sharpened side of the blade is chewing into my index finger!

What am I doing wrong? Is the latch on the wrong side?

Greg

You're not doing anything wrong. You're just a fan of the "Manila" latch style (latch on the safe handle), rather than the "Batangas" latch style (latch on the bite handle). The beauty of the bali is that both are "right", and none are "wrong". Unfortunately, due to the strength of influence of the Benchmade bali's, most of the bali's sold in this country is of the "Batangas" style.

If you feel that the Manila style is your preferred method of using the bali, then the Jaguar is not for you. Almost all of the current crop of $100+ bali's can be changed with the latch configured in the Manila style. Some simply require that you swap the handles around. A process hard to do with the Jaguar (although if conditions hold true, it'll be something you'll be doing in a short while).

Welcome. Personally, I prefer Batangas, but that's strictly my preference.

Hi Greg...Welcome to the family :)

Take a look at some of this stuff rather than a diatribe about what's going wrong. Frankly I wasn't 100% sure of what you were describing as the problem.., but these sites will help: