Machete 5 pack info needed.

Good day ladies and gentlemen.

This is my first post on here but I have been visiting for a few months. I couldn't find a machete specific thread so thought I'd start here and it could be moved later if need be.

Anyway.

I just bought the Cheaper Than Dirt machete 5- pack for 19.99 plus $15 shipping.
Based in what I had seen on here and saw in the photos on the website I expected to get Incolma machetes which are very well renowned.

What I actually got was one Corneta machete which says it is made by Gebrüder Weyersberg from Solingen. I know from my straight razor days that anything from Solingen is good steel.

The other 4 were all Prima brand which I can find no info on the web about although they do have "made with British Steel" stamped on them. I know Sheffield steel was good back in the day but not sure about British in general.

My main reason for asking is that I want to know if these are as good as the Incolma/ Imacasa/ Tramontina/ Gavilan brands or not. I don't want to waste my time putting a good edge on them if not.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Ginga.

I've just noticed that they all get thinner from the base toward the tip, is that what is referred to as tapered?

No idea about "Prima" but the Gebruder Weyersberg piece is pre-Imacasa production. Nice snag--got pics? :)

And yes--sounds like you're describing distal taper. :thumbup:

Distal taper = good stuff!

Like fortytwo, I've never heard of Prima either, but if all those blades have distal taper (blade spine is thicker at the handle than the tip), you may have something there... and yes, old german solingen steel IS good stuff indeed!

I'm no expert, but here are a few tests you can do:

1) Flick the spine of each blade with your fingernail. They should ring. Good machete steel rings like a bell when struck. In fact, if you chop some hard wood with them, you will hear them ring with every stroke due to good and even heat treatment.