How To Micarta handle for a blade blank?

thxt4pA.jpg
I have a Rob Siminich blade blank (Kanji) from many years ago. I wrapped it in paracord and have used it that way for close to two decades.

I’d like to put a set of Micarta scales on it with bolts as 1. Im allergic to (liquid only) epoxy, 2. I think the scales should be removable for maintenance. Is there a good way for me to do this myself? (I have zero experience making/mounting scales)

I see blank micarta is available at Amazon, so would assume some place like knifekits.com, Jantz supply, etc. would as well as the bolts I would need.

Or should I seek out somebody that could do it at a reasonable cost?

Thanks for any/all assistance!

Last edited:
To avoid epoxy, I"d say use nitrile gloves, but breathing the sanding dust is probably bad for you too.

Look at all the various CA glues. There are toughened gels and others that make it act like epoxy - not running away.

Last edited:
thxt4pA.jpg
I have a Rob Siminich blade blank (Kanji) from many years ago. I wrapped it in paracord and have used it that way for close to two decades.

I’d like to put a set of Micarta scales on it with bolts as 1. Im allergic to (liquid only) epoxy, 2. I think the scales should be removable for maintenance. Is there a good way for me to do this myself? (I have zero experience making/mounting scales)

I see blank micarta is available at Amazon, so would assume some place like knifekits.com, Jantz supply, etc. would as well as the bolts I would need.

Or should I seek out somebody that could do it at a reasonable cost?

Thanks for any/all assistance!

Jantz also has drill bits for this type of thing. Pick the fastener desired and then the bit. I believe many of the fasteners descriptions reference the rivet bit needed.

Check the vids on YouTube by searching for removable knife scales. The simplest way is using small threaded inserts and some kind of flathead or countersunk torx or allen key bolts.