Micarta vs. G10? (Please help!)

I'm going to have a knife made, and the maker (GENE INGRAM) has told me that he can make the knife and ship it with the following choices of scale materials:

-Ivory paper micarta with black liners
-Tan linen micarta with black liners
-Black linen micarta with red liners
-Natural G10 with black liners

I have some experience with G10, though not Natural G10, but I DON'T have any experience with micarta. Thus, forgive these questions if they seem a little silly:

Is there a difference between the paper micarta and the linen micarta? A difference in grippiness? Would you choose one of the micarta slabs (if so, which one and why?) or the G10? PLEASE HELP!! I'm a little clueless here, and I'm not sure quite what to choose!

Also, I've seen a lot of Gene's work here, and heard a lot of good things, but anyone got any 1st hand stories? Thanks, again!

Sincerely,
Anthony

Heard that paper micarta is smoother...
Also heard that they are "machined" (or more like shaped) quite easily, although I don't know how.
Perhaps the people hanging at the shoptalk can actually help out better.

I apologize in advance for the short answer, I could go on for quite sometime about micartas and G10, but its late and time for sleepy. Anyway, I would call the maker, tell him the primary use for the knife, what you expect, and see what he recomends. Good luck -- Charles

I am going to re-direct this and move it to Shop Talk. You might get a good perspective from the body of knife makers who post there.
Dave

I think C. Marlowe has probalby given you the best answer here. If you call him and let him know what you are looking for, I'm sure the maker will be happy to help you. That being said, will give some input on my own preferences.