Mora No.1

Morning folks! I’m new here and I’m a really novice amateur, so sorry in advance for every misunderstanding 😅

I want to buy a Mora blade no1 and make its own wooden handle and leather sheath. It is available in 2 different kind of steel: carbon or laminated. The thing here is that, probably, laminated is a much better steel but it is also much more expensive (2-2,5x), so the answer is this: why to chose a laminated one if I take care of my tools once they are at rest? If the pros are absolute, I’m willing to spend more money for a greater tool.

The laminated one is much more rust resistent and has a more glossy look to it. It’s the more common version on Mora’s factory knives. In my oppinion the carbon steel one is equally good and even looks better.

Making a handle for a blade is substantial work, so you might consider a better blade?

I would suggest a Lauri blade as a better choice? Or even a Puronvarsi?

whatever you choose, make sure to post the finished knife!

The laminated one is much more rust resistent and has a more glossy look to it. It’s the more common version on Mora’s factory knives. In my oppinion the carbon steel one is equally good and even looks better.
Joakim, Thankyou for your answer! So you are saying that if I take care of clean and dry the blade once it’s not in use, substantially the two kinds are almost the same in terms of effectiveness and durability?

Making a handle for a blade is substantial work, so you might consider a better blade?

I would suggest a Lauri blade as a better choice? Or even a Puronvarsi?

whatever you choose, make sure to post the finished knife!