Most subtle way to present your hobby...

I am only a high school student (early start in my hobby) and I have gotten addicted to knives like many people here. Yesterday, I went to a friends dinner party, and he seemed interested in my knife (I was carrying only a Gerber EZ-out at the time), so I just passed it to him. When his parents saw it, his mother's view of me quickly turned hostile and she suddenly started inquiring why I carried a knife. I hardly consider a Gerber EZ-out a weapon and I use it cut boxes, duct tape, and whatever needs to be cut. My responce was the usual speech about how knives are not weapons and they are tools, and how I use it to cut boxes and tape, and how it is perfectly normal to carry a knife because it was one of man's first tools, and even during the middle ages, everyone carried a knife. They seemed to back down, but next time I want to be more subtle about presenting my knife. What would be the most unthreatening way to present a knife?

I carry two knives when I know I’ll be in social situations with non- knife people, one is my usual tactical carry, the other my sheeple knife.

Don’t flaunt your knife, only take out the sheeple version if someone needs a knife to do some cutting, and one of their cutting implements is unavailable. When you come to their rescue you will seem prepared and helpful which seems non-threatening and will alarm no one, not even someone’s Grandmother.

You’ll be surprised how accepting non-knife people become if they perceive your knife as helpful to them. You might even plant the seed that being prepared with a knife is something they could or should too.

------------------
Take Care,

LD

[This message has been edited by Lucky Dog (edited 11-08-98).]