Moving up in the strop world/Diamond on cardboard?

Should I use Diamond paste on cardboard

• Yeah sure, no problem!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No! That's heresy!

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • It doesn't matter either way

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters
So for those of you that don't know, I am new to knives and most of my edge maintenance is stropping on cardboard (I have a pretty light knife-use type of life TBH). I have the Woodstock Green Extra Fine which does give my knives a nice toothy edge (which I describe as though my blade has teeth that bite into my hairs when I shave my leg). I recently bought the Red Rogue to see if I can make it sharper. It did not give me the 'ultra-sharp' 'cuts an atom' type sharp that I wanted, but it did polish the edge a little bit and made the edge smoother in a way that did not bite my leg hair when I tried shaving. I think that I stropped too much (or too hard) with the red and maybe dulled the blade a little, but it will probably be fixed with the green compound easily. I suppose my question is whether or not to use DMT paste on cardboard, because if diamond lasts for a long while, I really wouldn't mind keeping some 6, 3 and 1-micron pieces lying around. I know that I'm supposed to put it on leather, get it all nice and pretty, but in my life, I see cardboard as a more practical option.
TLDR: I strop on cardboard and I'm wondering if I could advance to diamond pastes with cardboard.
Hopefully, the pictures come through, and if they do, I apologize for the snail trails.
https://imgur.com/gallery/BzrSs
Edit: Added a poll in case that is easier to get an answer

Last edited:
I used to use diamond spray on a balsa block that I got super cheap from amazon. I’ve also used diamond spray on plain paper then wrapped it around a dry sharpening stone. I think the ridges in the cardboard might give you negitive results. I’m sure some here will correct me if I am wrong.