My first holster

Triton

Gold Member
Thought I would post this up and see what you guys think. There are some errors in it, for example I didn't think to try to burnish the edges until after I had put the thing together, but on the whole I'm pretty pleased with how this first effort came out. This one was made for my carry gun. The next one will be for a paddle holster I think, and I may try wet forming it to the gun rather than tooling it this time. Any obvious tricks I should be doing?

Thanks!View attachment 501496holsterunclip.jpg

having only made 2 holsters im far from an expert but ya did good, in the future ya wanna bevel your edges an burnish as you said
i wouldve probably stitched up to where your rivet is, and used a screw type post
I think ya did a good job on it, and not an easy holster (clip) to pull off
Gene

PS my first holster was a mexican loop fairly easy to pull off, holster went well but doing the belt darn near killed me :)

having only made 2 holsters im far from an expert but ya did good, in the future ya wanna bevel your edges an burnish as you said
i wouldve probably stitched up to where your rivet is, and used a screw type post
I think ya did a good job on it, and not an easy holster (clip) to pull off
Gene

PS my first holster was a mexican loop fairly easy to pull off, holster went well but doing the belt darn near killed me :)

Thanks Gene, I appreciate it. Is there any particular advantage of using the screw post? I've got some and I thought about it... maybe next time. I agree I should have added some more stitching as well. Thanks for the thoughts!

Don't use Rivets, particularly splash rivets. Some extra stitching won't take that much more time and will look a lot better.