My first khukri

I'm pondering my first khukuri purchase (from you, of course), and right now I'm leaning towards one of your Ang Kholas. One of the big reasons I'm thinking about the AK is the durability ... this way, I can use it to chop most things without having to worry about abusing it.

The only difference between your various AKs are the lengths, detailing, and price, right? Due to the detailing, I'm thinking about either the Garud or the silver-mounted one, but I'm not sure how hard the silver would be to maintain. Any ideas? Also, right now I'm in a very humid environment, would the wood or horn hold up better? (I'm guessing the horn would, but I'm not sure).

Thanks for the help!

I have been buying & using Khukuris from Uncle Bill for at least 10 years. Can't remember exactly how long. The biggest consideration to choosing one is to decide what you are going to do with it; i.e. will it be used close to the house for heavy or light clean-up, will it spend most of its' time hung on the wall, will you carry it while hunting, fishing, or hiking? I like the Ang Kolas, but they are bigger & heavier than a lot of the other styles. The 12" to 16" Sirupatis are light weight & quick in use. The military's in that size are a little heavier I have found, but are a little more of an all-around knife; cut good, balance good, & are not to heavy on your belt. The Ang Kola is heavy when you get up in the 17-18" knives, but I can generally limb a tree, split kindling, or take down a 3-6" tree as fast, & sometimes faster, than with an axe & it is a whole lot easier on my shoulder, elbow & wrist. I've got a 16" military that I got from Bill years ago that I've abused pretty bad at times & she still goes with me just about everywhere I go. A few years ago, a feller went off the road out where i work (sorta in the boonies) in a 2WD truck. It was so cold that nobody could get their chainsaws to run long enough to cut some pine tops & etc. to get under the tires for traction. A