My first review, probably something you've never seen before.

Well I've never done a review before, but I have never seen anything about this knife on BladeForums. So I thought it would be something different than the 1,000,000,000th Paramilitary 2 review.

6zCLa.jpg

It is a Knojis Mino Kami. It is in the same style as a traditional Japanese Higonokami, but with the addition of a liner lock.

I have mixed feelings about the quality. I paid $150 for it, which for me is definitely on the high end of my collection. That being said, I have no qualms about carrying and using it.

When I took it out of the box, the blade was WAY off center. Normally, this doesn't really bother me that much. But in this case it was so far off that it had damaged the damascus finish on the blade.

UaztV.jpg

imRaJ.jpg

Meh. Like I said, I plan to carry and use the knife, so it doesn't really bother me. It'll get scratched eventually. It's not worth the hassle or ~1 month turnaround that it would take to send it to the states and back (I'm in Canada).

The only reason it DOES bother me a bit is that it took me all of 10 seconds to get the blade centered perfectly. Had this been done in the first place, the damage never would have happened. Which makes me wonder how many times the knife was opened/closed before I got it. I literally opened the knife and took these pics.

When I was re-tightening the pivot I realised that this knife has a feature that none of my other ones do. I'm not sure what the technical term is, but the pivot has screw heads on both sides that turn. I could crank it down nice and tight and the blade still operated completely smoothly.

oNmh1.jpg

nsN2e.jpg

Upon closer inspection I also found some weird damage to the blade tang. One side has a weird gouge in it:

hafJy.jpg

B12LZ.jpg

Neither of these issues really bother me, but if I was a collector I would be pretty pissed. I am not sure if this is typical of these knives or not, I've never seen another one.