My quarantine kuksa

dateposted-public

Cherry, that’s a surprise. Dark and rich, I was guessing walnut. I’m no wood expert, as you can tell, lol. I like it, has a nice rustic yet well finished look.

Cherry, that’s a surprise. Dark and rich, I was guessing walnut. I’m no wood expert, as you can tell, lol. I like it, has a nice rustic yet well finished look.
It could very well be oak. An encyclopedia could be written of all the things i don't kow about Eastern Hardwoods. I know i spent as much time sharpening as i did carving. The person who gave it to me said it was cherry. Any thoughts are welcome.

Cherry darkens with age so I'm told, so after 70 years it certainly could be.

Pictures are not showing, I actually copied and pasted different code from the actual flickr page into my first response so the pic would be there.

Incidentally, glad you decided to post. It's more fun here that way.

49911434567_cdde036d34_k.jpg
20200515_091223[/url] by Jay Kehoe, on Flickr[/IMG]

Trying to post spoon pic again. Generally speaking, I'm a reasonably intelligent person, but this picture posting has me somewhat bumfuzzled. Before anybody asks...yes, I searched the forums and internet for advice. If anybody has any, I'd appreciate it.

I think you are copying and pasting the wrong link is all. When I did it I think I used the “BB” code. If you use the “preview” button when writing your post you’ll see whether or not the pic will show correctly, so you can try a few things before hitting the submit button.

On my desktop computer (not sure what to do on mobile) my process would be: in flickr click on 'download this photo' and then select 'view all sizes'. Then click on the version you want to share so it loads up on screen. Right click on the photo and select 'view image' which will open it up as a 'jpg' file rather than an album / flickr page. Copy the URL from the address bar. In the bladeforums post select the 'image' button and paste the copied URL in there.

Cool work!