Need advice

Hello all, this is my first post. I've recently been bit by the forged blade bug and I'm still learning! Anyways...

Last February I contacted a knife maker to make me a custom (my first) hunting knife. The telephone conversation went well. He indicated a 2-3 month delivery time. I sent him payment.

At the three month period, I called. He said he had some delays and that he probably wouldn't have it completed till mid summer. I called back at mid-summer. At that time, a family member of his had become ill. He said it would probably not be till the fall. I called back in the middle of October. This time he informed me that the blade had been forged. I asked if he could have it by Nov. 1st. He said yes. I called on Nov. 1st. No answer.

I continued to try to reach the maker till the first week of January. I was finally able to talk with him ( at which time I discovered his family member had passed away). I was near his home when I finally talked with him and was able to set up a meeting. We met and talked about the knife and handle materials. I saw the blade and we discussed a completion date of the end of the next week. That is now almost four weeks ago. My phone calls don't get answered, my messages aren't returned. I can't drop by his shop because I'm 1600 miles away. He did answer one email (only when I didn't ask about my knife). Subsequent emails have gone unanswered. I've been pretty reasonable considering the chain of events (or run-around). I'm to the point that I don't care about the knife any more. I think I'd just like to get my money back.

At first, I gave this gentleman the benefit of the doubt (depsite friends and family members thoughts). Now, it seems I'm being taken advantage of.

Do you guys have any thoughts regarding courses of action? Not having any experience with custom knife's, Is this normal? Should I just be a little more patient?

first of all, welcome to the forums, and sorry about the circumstances.