Need help with a knife idea - WIP thread

I’m brand new to knife making and only have one blade under my belt. I’m wanting to make my next knife for my 16 year old son. I’d like this to be an EDC fixed blade. I need some suggestions on what would make a good profile for an edc blade. Also what weight and dimensions would you recommend. I’m planning on forging this knife out of an old plow bearing race made of 52100 steel.

First ask your son what he likes.
I make EDC's app 1/8" thick, 3,5" drop point blade and just under 1" wide.
I make them with an inside front pocket sheath

Here is what I came up with. He likes a drop point style blade. This one is 8.25” over all length. Handle length is 4” and blade length is 4.25”. Let me know what you think and if anything needs to be tweaked.

XaHpoOz.jpg

Round that pointy butt end of the handle, it will irritate a hand.
I think it is large for an edc, but that is different to everybody

I thought it was a little large myself. But my older son has one that size and they both like it. I agree on the handle and will round it off. Thanks for the feedback.

In addition to rounding the handle, you could optionally extend the ricasso a little and add a sharpening choil.

School me on the thoughts of having a choil. None of my knives have them. I’m not against putting one on there, I just don’t know anything about them.

I made this little hunter for my son a couple years ago.
You can see the little round choil that helps with sharpening.
KVI2aNB.jpg

Would he actually carry that every day? I'd go more for 3'' narrower blade and 3.5'' handle. Straighter handle. I'd add a decent pommel. Once you add a sheath that knife currently looks big for EDC. Depends on use, I guess, but for me EDC is packaging, wood, rope and cord, and some food prep. Don't need a big blade for that.

Gotcha, HSC. You think the blade just needs a shallower profile overall, or just more upsweep to the point?