Need Straight Razor Sharpening Help

I am sure that this topic has come up in the past, but I am a newbie with conflicting advise in need of assistance. I have a collection of about 25 old straight razors going back to the early part of the 19th century. I hone them from time to time on a so-called wet razor hone (part of a 4 sided strop/hone combo). But the quality of my blades is going down. Some have lost their edge entirely. What to do? Should I invest in a blade sharpening system (eg. the Edge Pro Apex, Skarb, et. al.) or should i get some sort of hones (don't have a clue what kind). Anyway I really need the advise of this forum. Please help. Again, this for dtraight razors and not knives per se.

The Knife Center has a web page on sharpening straight razors:

http://www.knifecenter.com/knifecenter/sharpen/instrazor.html

They indicate that German razor manufacturers use water stones and yet the knifecenter correspondent has his doubts. This is due to BS from Juarnich about lubricants being bad on hones. Having sharpened things by every method known to man for over 40 years I can safely say that lubricants work fine on hones.

What I use (cause I can find them in considerable variety) is Japanese water stones. I get mine at a local wood workers store. You can easily find them in 8000 grit and finer. I would get one of these and lay my razor flat on the hone and hone with water. You might want to experiment with one of your cheaper razors for prefered stroke. I Gently work in circles at first, then edge-forward for a little bit, then finish with edge trailing strokes.

By the way, when you hone edge-trailing or strop on leather, end your stroke by flipping your edge upwards when you reverse your stroke rather than picking up the whole blade. This is hard to explain, but you are trying to preclude picking the spine of the blade up before the edge and thereby rounding the edge. If you don't strop carefully you degrade your edge over time.