Need to hear from the firefighters

I need to hear from all the firemen or women out there. I have been a professional firefighter for 10 years and I have been a knife lover for 38. I have always carried a few knives at a time. EDC swiss mini-champ, spyderco native or a camillus heat, and a gerber multi-tool. In my turnout gear I have a myerco rescue one and a gerber rescue.

I have thought about a small fixed blade but the other guys in my house look at me funny as it is.

So what do you carry? And why.:D

I carry a Benchmade auto, some sort of multitool in my gear, ( leatherman now) and sometimes a rescue hook.

A multitool is the only one I must have, but i love having my auto for seatbelts and the such..

tim

I at times have a Hobbits Fang (small fb) hanging from my goods. I also know others with small fb. I plan on carring a strider DB on my uniform pants as soon as I score one.

The only worry i have is our "customer base", I work for a city in NY state that has a murder rate some years FOUR TIMES that of NYC. Many shootings stabbings etc. in these areas a knife is a weapon period. So i do try to cover, remove and so on when at these types of calls.

The white shirts know me well, plus I'm a LT. so i have not had any trouble over it BUT I'm sure some would freak.

Oh I carry along with the Fang, I carry in my pants a Endura 4 or BM 710, in my goods pocket a CRKT M16 FD.

i also thought about the merits of carrying a fixed blade. never carried one during a shift.

usually have a folder (spyderco, or ao camillus) but i can't even think of all the times somebody has asked for a multi tool. i'm sure fixed blades could have their time and place for FF'ing but multi tools seem to be the most handy overall. i'll be switching to one very soon.

Hi IAFF318. I'm from local771 in Saint John. Welcome aboard. I carry a Spyderco D'Allara Rescue and a Leatherman Pulse at work and I usually have a Spyderco plus my new small Sebenza(for the past two days). Enjoy the forums.