New Alpha Hunter: blade too loose, sheath too tight

Hello

I got my first Buck, an alpha hunter (black rubber) last month and I'm having trouble with it. It is from the first production run, and arrived new and boxed.

I am a knife newbie and have two questions:

The blade was loose when I got it, and the screw that holds the blade in place would not stay in position. So - knowing no better - I superglued the nut in place, with regular superglue from the hardware shop. But now three weeks later the not-so-superglue has come undone (from the snapping open motion) and the screw and blade is loose again. How do I get the screw to stay in one position?

Also, the Buck sheath it came with is too small for the knife. It fits in if I really jam it hard, but then it takes a good few minutes to force it out again. Is there something I can do to the sheath to loosen it up?

Thanks for any help

Tec

Put a dab of Locktite on screw, put screw back in, adjust to where you want it, and let sit overnight.

The sheath should loosen up over time. It is a function of the rubber dragging on the sheath material.

Jeff

tecumseh -
I recently bought the Alpha Hunter folder in rosewood and haven't had a problem. The sheath seemed to be a little tight but like J Hubbard said it loosened up within a weeks time. Not that it matters much but are you placing the knife in the sheath thong hole first? Good luck with a nice knife!

Thanks for the replies.

I had a closer look and yeah it is the rubber gripping on the sheath, so I guess the rosewood one would work OK, being smoother? So maybe the sheath was designed with the rosewood one in mind. Otherwise I might have a slightly defective sheath which is too small. Certainly it can not have been designed to be this tough a fit!

I'll try and track down some locktite and give it a go. Thanks for confirming that glueing it in place is correct, I wasn't sure if i was missing something obvious.