New to Knives...

Hi all,

Just wanted to say Hi!

I was at a gun show today with a friend of mine who I shoot sporting clays with, and saw a Benchmade 550S Griptilian.

I instantly fell in love with it, because of its grip, the fact that I can use it easily as a left hander, and the look of it.

So I bought it, and now I'm here, thinking about starting a modest knife collection.

Can you guys point me in the direction of who makes good knives, anything that might interest a total noob?

Thanks allot!

-John

First off, call your personal banker and get your line of credit raised.

Find the UPS driver in your area and show him a safe place to put all of the new packages.

Call Strider, find out who Josh is and send him a canned ham.

Never pee into the wind or badmouth Sebbies. The personal e-mails will never stop. Welcome aboard.

Welcome to the forums! In the $40-150 range Benchmade, Spyderco, and Kershaw are very popular brands, for starters. Check out this site for great deals, and great service:

http://www.newgraham.com

Hey Spyderco and Benchmade would be great ones to start with.Once you get a Spyderco hole theres no going back.BTW there is a Spyderco forum here too.

Welcome to the forums! You will love it here! Good knives and good folks too! Paul

Welcome to the obsession. You're doing good so far - the Griptilian is a great knife.

You will learn a lot here, and trust me... this is only the beggining :D

Oh boy...

I knew I was screwed once I had the decision to make between the Benchmade and the CRKT Serengetti... The decision was too close to call before my friend pointed out that with my general "all purpose" use, the Serengetti would be allot heavier and not quite as easy to use [the locking mechanism on the Benchmade being much easier for my left-handed self to operate].

So now I'll be searching for the Serengetti to hopefully get a deal on it.

Hi Drakhen!