Newbie question on G-10

Building my first knife and I bought a piece of .125" G10 expecting it to have a texture but it is smooth. Did I screw up and should have found a textured G10 or can I do something to it rough it up?

I have no experience working with G10 so advise is appreciated.

Thanks
Mark

needs to be heavily beadblasted to get that grippy texture.

sanding it to 220 will leave a little texture....but blasting it is the best way to do it.

:thumbup:

Dan

needs to be heavily beadblasted to get that grippy texture.

sanding it to 220 will leave a little texture....but blasting it is the best way to do it.

:thumbup:

Dan

Thanks Dan. I'll try the 220 since I don't have a bead blaster. Can this stuff be purchased already textured?

Mark

I really don't know...I doubt it.

If you really want it blasted...and it's just one knife...I'll gladly blast it for you here in the shop...doesn't take long. Just cover return-shipping.

Dan

p.s. this offer is for Mark G...not anyone else. :p

FYI - Whatever you use to sand or ROUGH UP your G-10 MAKE SURE you're wearing breathing protection...don't want any of those fibers in your lungs!!

How about an example?

Here's my buddy Tom Krein's chef knife in polished blue/black G10:

8inchchef.jpg

You can tell the handle is smooth to the touch and the colors are vibrant.

And one of his TK-5 Magnum Hunters in blasted blue/black G10:

blacknbluemagnumhunter.jpg

Here the colors are more muted and you can definitely see a texture on the surface.

Dan

(I don't polish my G10....so that's why I used Tom's examples - thanks, Tom!)

if you have a air compressor

even a hand held blaster would do the trick and you dont have to use beads either sand will give a even more textured handle

I would wear a mask no matter what,

if smoking is bad for you

dust is insanity on your lungs