1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newby needs help. Bought KME basic sharpener, want finer stones. Which ones?

Discussion in 'Maintenance, Tinkering & Embellishment' started by Jumbi8, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Jumbi8

Jumbi8 Gold Member Gold Member

Apr 1, 2018
    Hello all,

Complete newby here. The KME sharpening system just arrived and I tested it out on my spyderco chaparral. This, in my uneducated opinion, is a really fabulous sharpener. Very easy to use. My chaparral is my box opener, sushi cutter while out at random casual lunch knife. It does not see any medium or difficult work. Other than the dreaded shipping box apocalypse, that is all I intend to ever use the chaparral for. So, that being said, I use this as my sliciest blade, I set the kme to its lowest angle of 16 degrees (without yet flipping the guide over for an even lower possible angle)
    This gave me a barely perceptible shallower angle than came on the knife from the factory.

I easily went through the 4 grits (140, 300, 600, 1500) and wiped the blade between grits so as not to contaminate the higher with the lower. Inspecting with a 10x loop, the bevel looks perfectly centered and, well....perfect.

It is "sharp" but still has some slight variable resistance cutting through paper. I can't say it performs any better/worse than when it was sharpened on the spyderco sharp maker, but the edges are more precisely perfect upon inspection with magnification.

Being a complete newby, and wanting to have that mirror edge that I see on all the "cool kids" knives, I would like to now buy some finer stones to get me there. The finest that came with this basic kit was 1500 gold series diamond hone.

My question is what should I buy now that will take me to that desired mirror edge finish?
    3000, then 5000, then 10000?
    Please post your suggestions and if possible where you suggest I buy the specific items.