Oil or no oil

I'm no expert but I will post a link to what the experts say here in a bit.
Yes, use oil it keeps the steel from getting stuck and piling up in the pores of the stone and it makes the stone cut the steel more cleanly; think slice rather than tear.
More later.
PS: maybe you have some baby oil or mineral oil from the drug store. That will work fine on your stone. Hell sewing machine oil too.

Okay two more questions (I know i'm a curious creature), will gun oil work. And two why is it that when ever I tried out with my Norton carborundum stone, it just seemed through the bottom. Thanks, Evan

Sounds like your Norton is too porous for the oil to hold. To keep that from happening, you can melt some petroleum jelly and let it soak into the stone. That creates a barrier of sorts for the thinner oil so it doesn't just go right through.

Isn't petroleum flammable and would catch on fire if melted?
It would probably take an open flame or oven temps up around 500° F to touch it off.
There is specific instructions in the thread I left a link to for melting the petroleum jelly but it would be safe enough to warm up the oven to ~ 200° F. (probably even less).
TURN OFF THE OVEN
then put the stone and jelly in the oven.
I've never done this so check the other thread. Lots and lots of other excellent info there.

PS: melting it on the stove top with an open gas flame or a hot electric burner element where the stuff could drip onto it is the problem

The petroleum jelly method works VERY well. I have used it on a few carborundum hones with great success. Before I performed the "petrolization" the hones soaked up the oil ridiculously quickly. Afterward, even a few drops will pool on the surface. Highly recommend this for any oil hone that sucks up oil too fast. I did mine in the oven at 175 degrees, no problems. As the hones cooled I kept adding more petroleum jelly until they stopped absorbing it.