OK, admit it ... who uses a grinding jig?

I'm a real newbie at this knifemaking stuff. I've read that the use of a jig to grind a blade down is pretty much either a great method for consistency or the fastest way to be ostracized.

Who likes to use a grinding jig?

I don't, But I will
Mark Boyer does. Go to his site he tells how he make his blades. Good site. I just bought the "black knife" fighter from him. He just mailed it so I don't have it yet. But it looks cool on his site.
smile.gif

http://www.eskimo.com/~boyerbl/

------------------
-Greg Johnson
ICQ#4236341

I don't use any kind of grinding fixtures, but, I do have a pretty nice built in knifemakers tool rest. <g>

Kit is that a beer induced knifemakers work rest?
smile.gif

To answer the question I do everything freehand on the grinder with the exception of the plunge cuts which I do with a file and a alignment jig, still by hand..
smile.gif

Alan Folts..

Definitely NOT! I will admit to trying a home-made jig once, but, it was more trouble than it was worth. And, would you believe, my freehand grinding was superior to that produced with the jig. My advice, if you want to progress in this craft, is, learn to grind freehand. Use the workrest on your grinder either to support your hands, or the back of the blade-this is definitely not cheating, as you are holding the blade in your hands while you grind. Usually, I'll rough grind by resting the blade on the rest, and use a push stick. Then, it's bare hands only.

Remember, even if your freehand grinding is only so-so, you still did it YOURSELF!

Good Luck,

RJ

Mark Boyer's page is the best "here's how I do it." one that I've seen. I'd like to see a lot more knifemakers put that kind of information up. I understand there's "Trade Secrets" and some makers might not want to divulge processes that make their knives unique, but I find the information fascinating!

Stone