Ontario 22" Heavy Duty Machete

Hello I am a fisrt time poster. I have been reading from this site for a little while now and I like the discussions on this site. Very informative and helpful so I finally decided to join. My question is on the Ontario 22" Heavy Duty Machete. See I am a landscaper, and alot of the times I run into areas that need clearing, like for example I cleared a pond a month or so back, it was pretty drained out so we could walk about 10 feet or more into the back of the pond. What we where doing was clearing Fragmighty trees. From China, if you let them they will take over everything. Not to thick, but I was wondering would the said knife be useful for small limbs off smaller trees and larger debris? Is the blade to long for my work, is .125" thick a good thickness. Where is that on a ruler exaclty? Help would be much appreciated thank you.

I wouls that you might find the blade to long for what you are looking to do try a 18 inch or shorter at firt and see what you think of the size (I have the 22 and it was way too long and I`m a pretty big guy and it was just a little scary)and thats a fine thickness for a machete even a little thick by many peoples standards the thicker the blade the more drag while cutting a the more weight you have to swing.I hope I helped by the way I also have the cold steel kukri machete and love it (will need a good sharpening when you get them but also very cheap)

Thank you very much for your reply, you helped out alot, thank you again. Also what should I use to sharpen the machete, what is the best process?

A lot of people use a single cut file to sharpen their machete's. I find that leaves too coarse an edge for me, but maybe I just need a better file or technique. A belt sander will do a great job, as long as you're careful about not overheating the edge. A light touch will also prevent removing too much material.