opinions of various brands of knives

• Thread starter Thread starter RT
  • Start date Start date

RT

Hi, I'm new to this hobby and have been spending quite a bit of time surfing the net to learn more about knives. From what I've seen, some of the more popular production knives seem to include Spyderco, Benchmade, Microtech, EDI, etc. This probably isn't a fair question since I'm sure each company puts out its share of both high end and moderate level knives, but is there any way to generalize the different brands based on where there market strengths or focus are? For example, I kind of gather that Microtech's tend to be more expensive but higher quality, while Spyderco tends to focus on more affordable knives.

All the companies you mention all make very good knives.It pretty much boils down to what your needs are in relation to which company you purchase from.I have knives from all the companies mentioned and are all good knives.I feel that they all have good qualities and workmanship.There prices are also run the spectrum of low to high.Everyone on these forums has there favorites so you will get all sorts of different opinions.I'm sure that looking over all the types of knives they offer you will find at least on per brand that will appeal to you and fill your cutting needs.Just when you decide to favor a particular model from a certain company another new model from a different company is introduced and it's like starting all over again.But it sure is fun buying and deciding.
Bob

but is there any way to generalize the different brands based on where there market strengths or focus are?<<

Boy, this could open up a discussion!<g>