Outdoor Edge Impulse

GF

Has anyone had a chance to review the Impulse? It sounds like a nice work knife but I would like to know if anyone has gotten their hands on one yet.

------------------
Glenn

Glenn - I have not used one yet but have seen them at the SHOT and Blade shows this year. Overall, they seem like pretty nice knives. Two handle materials available - Zytel and die cast aluminum. I prefer the one with aluminum, as it feels more solid. The blade steel is that Sandvik 12C27. I've no experience with this steel, but do know that this is one of Darrel's favorite steels. One of the best features of this knife is the pocket clip. It is inset into the handle so that when the knife is gripped, it has the feel of a clipless knife. I believe the Impulses are scheduled to start shipping within the next month or so. Hope this helps.

------------------
Dexter Ewing
Knife Reviews Moderator
AKTI Member # A000005

"The keystroke is mightier than the sword"

Thanks Dexter, I'll have to keep my eye out for them. I am curious to see how smooth the action is, how positive the liner lock is, etc, etc.

------------------
Glenn

Right now the only people with their hands on the Impulse is AG Russel Knives and me. AG is now photographing the production prototypes for their upcoming catalog and I have the other four prototypes.

Thanks for posting Dexter but to set the record straight, the Impulse will not be available in Zytel. The four different 3-3/4" blade models include bead-blast finish and all black Teflon coated in either plain edge or serrated edge.

Overall I am thrilled with the fit and finish on the production prototypes. Smooth opening action, tight lockup, no side play, good ball detent, crisp blade grinds and shaving sharp cutting edges. All for around $50 retail.

The first production is in process and is scheduled for delivery the end of July. To get on the waiting list and be the first kid on the block to own the Impulse, call AG Russel at 800-255-9034.