Peter Herbst, How Many Originals?

I am curious as to how many original C53 Peter Herbst knives with annodized titanium handle and 440C Solengen blade were produced and distributed before being changed over to the new model with aluminum handle and ATS 55 blade? Anybody have a clue?

Thanks in advance
recoil

I would also like to know the answer. I have been collecting for a couple of years and have seen just a handfull. In fact, the more I think about it, the only one that I remember seeing, I bought. Good thing too, they are hard to find.

Ben

I know it's less than 500. I remember something about these being made at the Boker factory and the quality not being as good as it could be.

I've been looking high and low for one. Another that escapes me is a plain edge CF Cricket.

Recoil,

I see that you got the Herbst from Anthony. If you change your mind about keeping it, drop me a line.

:)

My guess would be not more than 300 actually hitting the streets. We scrapped a lot of them.

sal

Sal,

Thank you for the reply, I would have asked you personally at the NY show last week but I was suffering from sensory overload from all of your new items. The Herbst question just slipped my mind.

The original Herbst is an interesting knife with a rather strange history. With so few actually hitting the street it's no wonder they are hard to find!

Thanks again
recoil

Sal,

Thanks for the info!! I can't believe there were so few released, it is a very cool design and one of my favorite Spydercos. The action is the smoothest of any Spydie, right up there with the Viele.

Do you happen to remember, of the 300 that made it, were the first 200 collectors pieces (for a total of 300 or were there additional collectors pieces for a total of 500)? Thanks.

Ben

View

-What the heck is that design anyway?
recoil

recoil,

Beautiful pic! I would love to get a serrated version, if you ever decide to part with either give me a call :D