1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture hosting limits?

Discussion in 'Tech Support, General Q&A, Site Feedback & More' started by r8shell, Jul 2, 2017.

  1. T. Erdelyi

    T. Erdelyi Gold Member Gold Member

    Feb 3, 2001
    DSC_0067 - Edited.jpg
     
  2. T. Erdelyi

    T. Erdelyi Gold Member Gold Member

    Feb 3, 2001
    I did what you said you did and the pic came up, I went back to find it and I can't find it anywhere, stored on the site, now I wanna see if I delete or rename the file will it disappear. If it disappears than it's basically hot linking your pick from your devices drive.

    Well it's still there, if you right click on it and copy the address below is what I get. I have no idea where that is and I can't pull it up on my browser this way.

    http://www.bladeforums.com/attachments/dsc_0067-edited-jpg.734350/

    I'm kinda stumped. Hopefully this will draw a little more attention to this post and result in an answer.
     
  3. evltcat

    evltcat Gold Member Gold Member

    Mar 7, 2011
    ^--- From the URL it looks like it's uploading the file to the "attachments" directory on the BF server itself, linking it to your post, and NOT attaching them to your media.
    I did a search on all Ted's media and that attachment isn't there.
    @Spark is the only one that will be able to tell us how this works.
     
  4. r8shell

    r8shell Platinum Member Platinum Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    I've noticed that when someone uploads an image this way, it appears as a link, rather than an image in the quote. You can click on it to open and view.

    Maybe there isn't a limit to posting pictures this way? I mean, I don't know how much more storage pictures take than text, and wouldn't want to overtax the system.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  5. Blue Sky

    Blue Sky Gold Member Gold Member

    Jun 16, 2002
    If you insert an image directly into a post, it will not show as part of your media. Where it goes and how you can find it again later (outside of revisiting that post) is unknown at this point as far as I can see. No one else seems to know either.

    If you first create an album and then load images into it, you can then insert them into a post, and then find them again anytime using the "my media" tab. I have used both of these methods, and that is how it has worked.

    So, if you want to have easy access and control of the images you upload here, I suggest you use the album method.

    Heres a pic from my album:

     
  6. r8shell

    r8shell Platinum Member Platinum Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    Thanks, Blue Sky, I might try doing it that way at some point. I'm not sure I see an advantage, though.
    I have my pictures organized in folders on my computer, and it's very easy to find the one I want to post and then just drag or copy it into my post. I just want to make sure I don't reach some storage limit doing it that way, and then have to make room by going through my post history and deleting pictures one at a time.
     
  7. Redrummd

    Redrummd Moderator Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    May 21, 2007
    Unfortunately, I too don't have a "Your Media" tab when I get on the media page. I have tried the "Contact Us" and the Tech page to try and get an answer. I have a Hosted website here and I think maybe my membership has lapsed as on this page I do not see any membership level showing. I also do not know how to find out if that is the problem so does anyone know how to find my membership status. I am really surprised that no tech help has shown up to help us......
     
  8. SharpByCoop

    SharpByCoop Enjoying the discussions Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    Oct 8, 2001
    Michael: Go to the tab above called 'Paid Subscriptions', click that.
    Look to the left there is a little link called 'Purchase details', click that.

    There is your current status. That's all I can help you with.
     
  9. Redrummd

    Redrummd Moderator Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    May 21, 2007
    SharpByCoop - Well guess what? It did turn out to be my paid subscription had lapsed. The attache photo tools are now back and really are improved from the "old" tools!

    You think one of my posts on the tech page or sending a message through the "Contact Us" link would have gotten a response. I am very disappointed in "management" of Bladeforums. Wow......
     
  10. r8shell

    r8shell Platinum Member Platinum Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    I'm going to bump this one last time, because I'm stubborn that way. @Spark
     
    Jack Black likes this.
  11. davidf99

    davidf99 Gold Member Gold Member

    Sep 27, 2011
    I'm having the same problem. I've uploaded quite a few pictures from my personal computer when replying to various threads, using the Upload a File button and pasting the resulting thumbnail into my reply. This was after the cutover to the current BF software. I have no idea if I am getting close to the 20MB limit, or how to find, select and delete older images. I'd rather do that periodically instead of waiting until I run out of Bladeforums storage and have to wrestle with this problem when time is an issue. I am not using Bladeforums albums.

    I tried everything mentioned in earlier postings with no success.

    I decided to create an Album and try to upload my pictures to my Album from now on. However, I can't find any window that allows me to create an Album. From the Media link I chose Add Media and ended up with this:
    Albums
    1. Browse Albums
    2. Your Albums
    3. Albums Shared With You
    When I select option 2 (Your Albums) I am told that I have no Albums. However, nowhere on that page (or any other page) can I find a choice to add or create an album.

    Can someone who has created an Album say how that is done, since it might be a workaround to the problem described in this thread? Is it possible for a single user to create multiple Albums and give them unique names?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2017
  12. annr

    annr Basic Member Basic Member

    Nov 15, 2006
    All of my albums from the previous software disappeared. So I hope that won't happen to you if you plan on saving your pictures that way.
     
  13. r8shell

    r8shell Platinum Member Platinum Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    OK. I clicked on 'media' at the top of the page, selected 'add media', then 'create album' in the drop down menu. I uploaded a picture, and then posted it by clicking on the camera icon in the post window.

    from album
    Or, I can just drag the file from my computer into this post, and click 'full image' and it embeds. Much easier, and yet I still don't have an answer re: is there a data limit to posting pictures in this way?

    from computer
    lambfoot Yorkshire 2.jpg
     
    Jack Black likes this.
  14. davidf99

    davidf99 Gold Member Gold Member

    Sep 27, 2011
    Thanks, r8shell. I used your idea and was able to create an album. There's an in-between step that you didn't mention. You have to click the radio button to add media to album, and then you see the album drop-list, which includes "new album" as a choice. That gets you to a dialog where you can add an album and give it a unique name.

    I haven't tried using the album yet, but that's next. The album currently displays with the name and (0) next to it, which I assume will increase with every image that I add to the album. That still leaves open the question of how to tell when the album is getting full.
     
  15. r8shell

    r8shell Platinum Member Platinum Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    I did it, and then tried to remember what I'd just done, so I figured I might miss a step or two. :oops: Sorry.
    Down in the lower left corner of your media page, it tells you how much data you have used.

    It tells how much data I've have used in my media album, but not how much data I've used by posting a picture file directly into a message. (or where those attachments are stored on the site) That's what this thread is actually about, but I have not yet gotten an answer. :(
     
  16. Redrummd

    Redrummd Moderator Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    May 21, 2007
    I remain astonished that no one from "management" of bladeforums has bothered to answer the questions being discussed here. I am very disappointed in this......
     
    r8shell likes this.
  17. r8shell

    r8shell Platinum Member Platinum Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    Hey I just noticed something interesting: I happened to view Bladeforums on my computer without logging on, and the pictures that were directly loaded looked very small - like thumbnails. If I tried to click on them to expand, it said I'm not authorized to view attachment. When I logged on, the pictures looked full size again. Maybe this reduces the amount of data/bandwidth stored on site? I'm only guessing, of course, since no official answers are forthcoming.
     
  18. Lil' Foo

    Lil' Foo Gold Member Gold Member

    Aug 24, 2006
    This has got to be on their radar. Think about 1 to 2 MB per pic, times however many pics direct embedded per day. The data growth is probably running at a pretty good clip. Then layer on the increase from the great 3rd party hosting site tradegy of 2017... unintended consequences.

    Pretty sure they're working on it.

    .
     

Share This Page