• Preorders are LIVE for the 2024 BladeForums Traditional Knife

Traditional Knife Information Thread - make sure you go in there and read up.

Requirements: Be a Gold or higher member or have been a member of the forums since 6/2023 with at least 100 posts in the Traditional Forum. Preorder is for people who live in the continental US only, international orders will be separate.

Delivery expected in Q4 2024, hopefully before the holidays.

User Name
    Serial number request

Please Help Choosing Sharpening System

I'm not much of a knife sharpener. I'm naive. As a woodworker, I keep my chisels sharp enough to shave hair (using the "scary sharp" system), but I'm a wimp when it comes to touching one of my knife edges. With that said.....

Which system do you all like between the Spyderco Sharpmaker and the Lansky systems? Which one do you think would be more "foolproof" (if that's possible) for a rookie like me?

The lady at the knife shop I visited said the Lansky's were her biggest seller and she was sold out of Sharpmakers. Interesting. She might have been just trying to sell what's in stock, I don;t know. I did get a chance to study the Lansky in its plastic package and get an idea for the theory, but I've only seen internet pictures of the Spyderco Sharpmaker. I do not understand the mechanics behind the Spyderco.

Thanks for any advice....

I would like the Spyderco Sharpmaker, I recently purchased one hand have been exremely pleased with it. Growing up I used Lansky Crock Sticks and they worked well. But the Sharpmaker is alot more versatile and I think works better.

I 2nd that Spyderco Sharpmaker. It is the easiest way to sharpen your EDC's. Sometimes after a few days of use, just a dozen swipes on the corner of the brown rods and its right back to hair shaving sharp. I love it!!!!

Welcome to Bladeforums!

moving-van.jpg

I just recently bought a Sharpmaker and have had very good results with it, even as a rookie. Haven't tried the Lansky.