Please, help. Tough decision.

**EDIT I can get any knife under 200. Not just these 2. But I want to try out either.

So the girlfriend insists on buying me a present. New-ish to knives here. Alright guys, tough choice here. I dont know how M4 steel is but ive heard it was nice. How hard is it to sharpen? And how does it hold an edge?

I have the choice between a Paramilitary S30V

Or a 950 Benchmade Rift in M4. The Benchmade has the black coating on it if that makes anyones choice easier. Only 50 are being made. And its 144.95

Do rifts suck? I have no idea about benchmade, and it will be my first benchmade, and also spydie. Any input guys? Thanks. It will be used for everyday tasks, cutting cardboard, opening boxes, slicing food. Anything.. Sorry if I sound like a novice here, but I am.:rolleyes:

I like benchmade but i despise coated blades so if it has to be a black blade i would go paramilitary. Either way they are both good.

MG

M4 is a high speed tool steel, not a stainless steel. It is fairly easy to sharpen, takes a screaming sharp edge and holds it pretty well as long as you take care of it. The black coating is there to prevent rust, but the coating doesn't cover the edge, so the knife can lose its edge to rust just sitting around.

S30V is a stainless steel, is a little harder to sharpen, takes a good service edge (but not as fine as M4), holds that edge well and is much less prone to rust. The compression lock of the Paramilitary takes some getting used to, and seems to be a love it or hate it point on the knife.

Thanks bro, Any reason why you dont like coated? A personal preference?