Question from a newbie about CBT...

Hello everyone. Long time lurker, long time busse admirer, first time poster. So, I’ve used knives all my life but I’m a novice, trying to learn more. So, I purchased my first busse(forsaken Gemini) and I have a question about the grind. On the specs page, it listed the grind as CBT, which I researched enough to know that it makes the blade lighter and less likely to stick. About the actual grind though, what does that mean? Any input would be appreciated. Hope it’s not a dumb question. Thank you very much for your time.

Welcome & no worries on asking newb questions...we were all there before. :)

The CBT are what look like wavy lines on the blade on the primary grind.

There are vertical like on the HG55 as on my avatar. And there are horizontal CBT as on your FSTG.

I haven't found them to be that much more noticeably a better performer vs. traditional grinds, but YMMV...so primarily I like it aesthetically...there's nothing else like it!
Qyd6mxO.jpg

jme7DkM.jpg

kSpaler.jpg

Wsmf3yC.jpg

vibX4Lw.jpg

8m8Wvo3.jpg

nNuIcGh.jpg

It's basically a sabre grind where the primary bevel has corrugations rather than being a flat grind. The corrugations lighten the blade while maintaining the strength of the heavier blade. I don't know a lot about it but that's my understanding.

A while back Jerry explained it likening to an I beam stacked one on top of the other if you cross sectioned the blade. Much lighter while being stronger for its weight.

An added nice thing is the reduced surface area on the sides, less chances of getting wedged in the wood while chopping or batoning.

And I agree with the above, I love the look of it and was very excited when it came back! :D

Thank you guys so much for commenting. You’ve all been very helpful already. Is there anything special I need to do to sharpen a grind like that?

Coffee !

A smooth ceramic stick and a strop keeeps my INFI (cbt and without ) really , really sharp.

Coffee !