Questions about sori...

Phillip Patton

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I just forged a Japanese style short sword (wakizashi?) and I'm wondering how straight it should be prior to heat treat. From what I've read, it sounds like water makes it curve one way, and oil the other. So I'm wondering if a fast oil like Parks #50 will make it curve the same as water? Does anyone have experience using #50 for longer (24") clay quenched blades?

Ummmm.... I'm a noob, and I've never forged, but from what I understand, if you're doing differential tempering, it can only bend towards the spine. The edge gets quenched much more quickly, and thus gets "frozen" in its expanded state. The body and spine quench more slowly, so they have time to contract from the cooling. That way, the only way for it to bend would be away from the (hard) edge.

You'd think that, but i had a big bowie blade take a quite dramatic recurve when i had the clay too thick...no idea how it happens, but that point dropped. All my others have risen as you describe...

The quenchant doesn't have as much affect on the sori as heat does. I'd had a waki curve inward and outward on #50. If it cuves tip down, you didn't have enough even heat.

The sori develops as a result of the blade ending with two different steel structures.
Brine or Water is the usual quenchant because of its speed (fast oil will also work).