Review of Gunting

Burke

Platinum Member
Following an e-mail discussion with fellow BFC member fourcycle, I recently acquired a Gunting, #316, along with a Skunkworks holster for it. I should note that I acquired this knife primarily because of an interest in the “kinetic” opening system, and the new Spyderco compression lock, not because I am a martial artist, or because I am a disciple of Bram Frank. However, I have always taken an interest in the mechanics of how locks work, and in the ergonomics of knife design, and this particular knife provided an excellent opportunity to get a look at both. What I’m trying to convey is the idea that this review is from the viewpoint of a knife-knut, and not a martial artist, so I’m going to try to cover some of the aspects of this knife’s construction that have not been covered in previous reviews I’ve seen.