Review of the Steel Will Cutjack(no pictures)

For two agonizing months I waited for the Cutjack. All my other knives used either AUS-8 or 8cr, I figured this was the first step into the next level. It has been five weeks since I have gotten it and want to share my opinion about this new blade. Note: I am fairly new to this addiction, so my experience is quite small.

The blade: is 3.45 inches long with an cutting edge of 3.2''. The other 0.25'' is used for the forward finger choil, which is very nice. I like the choil for opening packages and other small tasks. Because part of the choil extends in the primary bevel, there is a narrow edge that is slightly uncomfortable if used when a lot of force is required. But it is nothing that makes me shy away from using it. The blade is 1.15'' wide and 0.12'' thick.

It has a very high flat sabre grind, which slices almost as well as a FFG. I use it for kitchen tasks and it is absolutely serviceable(in fact, it is the only thing I use in the kitchen, which earns me much ridicule from family members, but it is well worth it). It doesn't have a very ''pointy'' point due to the slight drop point. So I won't be stabbing any Bananas anytime soon:D. The swedge on the spin doesn't do much(as far as I can tell) except enact the same problem with the finger choil, but on a lesser degree.

It uses D2 tool steel, which I can't comment much on because of inexperience. sharpening is just as you'd imagine, a real pain without diamond stones, but so far well worth it because it holds an edge well. Other then that all I know about it is that I really like it.