Review : Raz-R-Steel from Razor-Edge

I have been using one for a couple of years now. I think it also strengthens the edge but I am not sure. But I really cut down how offen I really sharpen my knives, Which make them last longer. And that is a good thing
smile.gif
smile.gif

------------------
-Greg Johnson
ICQ#4236341

Cliff, how do you steel your knife? Is the method similar to stropping? (pulling knife edge away from the steel) or the opposite?

Frankly, I haven't tried "steeling" my knives yet, and would like to see how it would improve the edge.
smile.gif

Any info would be appreciated.
smile.gif
Thanks!

Dan

I've been using the Razor Edge steel for years. I've tried grooved steels due to the great reports I've heard about them, but still find myself happy with Razor Edge when all I want to do is align the edge.

I haven't don't any controlled test on steeling edge-first (like sharpening) versus spine-first (like stropping). My basic feeling is that both methods work very well, spine-first might be a little better but is much more awkward to do.

Joe

Dan, I have done it both ways. With the edge running into the steel (like honing) and with the edge trailing (like stropping) depending on which I am holding still and which I am moving. If I am holding the steel fixed I push the knife along it gently edge first. If I am moving the steel I have the knife edge trailing. Both seem to achieve similar results.

-Cliff

Cliff,
I couldn't believe it when I saw this post. I've had one of these things for about 10 years and I've never used it. A maker gave it to me at a show one time. I put it away and just forgot about it. I'll have to dig it out and try it.

Cliff and Joe,
Do you think this steel would work on serrated edges?