Rolled the edge on my Becker Necker / BK11

My necker from the factory wasn't particularly sharp. So being the knife knut that I am I just had to get it shaving sharp. The first thing I noticed was this steel is very easy to sharpen.

Anyway I am a noob when it comes to knives. After hearing so much talk about how strong this steel was I decided to give my blade a more acute angle in preparation of my fishing trip the next day. I have read here on the site that from the factory it has a 15/15 degree bevel. I probably took it down to 10/10 on my Japanese water stone. I then lightly stropped it on some worn out 1500 grit and a mouse pad because I couldn't get rid of the burr.

While fishing for crab on the dock in Pacifica I was trying to enlarge a carved notch to rest my pole in. It was whatever kind of wood boardwalks and piers are made of. I took probably 8 slices of wood and my blade was jacked. The edge rolled and lots of micro chips.

It is my fault I am sure for making the edge too thin. Like I said I am inexperienced when it comes to nice knives and changing grinds and such.

I want to repair my knife but I can't reprofile it on my water stone because the angle will cut into the stone now.

I guess I could try to use sand paper on a hard surface to reprofile and then goto the water stone or I could go with convexing the edge.

Can you guys give me your opinions on what I could do to get the best performance out of this knife?

(also what do you call it when you only convex the edge of a knife?)

The 1095 CV steel in your BK-11 is a great steel, and it really is easy to sharpen. I think that 10 degrees might be a little too acute for general use though. That angle might make for a great little slicer, but may not work for general use. I would suggest reprofiling back to the original grind angle for general usage. There's no reason that you can't have a shaving sharp edge at the original angle (mine are).