S30V or D2 in a folder?

Which do you all prefer in a folder with blade length between 3"-4"? Seems like custom makers such as Bob Dozier prefer to use D2, but I see others that boast S30V to be a better performer. If price isn't an issue, which do you all prefer as a better performer for a folder?

I am extremely impressed with the CPM S30V blade on my Millie. It touches up beautifully with just a few passes on my sharpmaker and holds a very sharp/durable edge for a long while. Excellent corrosive resistance too.

I've been infinately impressed with the S30V in my Cuda Dominator, and heard various, albeit small, complaints with the D2. From all that I've heard and seen, the S30V is the better steel.

My Harsey designed Lone Wolf folder is S30V...it is fine stuff. I have a Dozier with D2...also, fine stuff. Cannot see where you could go wrong either way.

After carrying an s30v Sebbie, I am a huge fan of this steel.

s30v all the way.

I have no experience with S30V, but I can tell you that you will have no problem with D2. It's been great in my 806.

On a folder S30V wins. But you have to look at the whole folder. Construction etc. What if it is the toughest steel on a weak construction? Both must come together.

I have both, and really think S30V is slightly better, but for most of my usage, either is more than acceptable. If I could buy a particular knife in either steel, but one was say 25% less expensive, I would pick the less expensive.

i'm no metallurgist, but this link leads me to believe that s30v is the ideal steel for folders & knives that see a lot of all-conditions use. it's like d2 with better corrosion resistance.