Safe to use cutoff wheels on angle grinder?

I'm starting my second knife next week. I did the first with just hand tools to get a feel for it, but now I'm plugging in. I picked up a $40 Ryobi angle grinder today at HD with the thought of using it for rough cutting my blade profile and then for rough grinding the bevels. It came with a few grinding wheels and I also picked up a couple of cutoff wheels.

I have zero experience with angle grinders. While I was reading through the manual, I came across this:

Use ONLY Type 27 depressed center wheels. NEVER attach a Type 1 straight or cut-off wheel to this angle grinder. This product is only designed for grinding and sanding. Use for any other purpose is not recommended and creates a hazard, which will result in serious injury.

I did some on-line research and saw a couple things. The first is that the guard has to be rated for Type 1. I can't find too much information on this, but it looks like the requirement for that is that it covers 180 degrees, which this grinder seems to do.

The second is that the flange nut shouldn't be conical because it can press the cutoff wheel out of shape, which will weaken it. The flange nut on this one is flat on one side and stepped on the other. The manual shows using it facing one way for certain wheels and the other for others. So, it seems like it would be fine to use flat side facing in.

Oh, and the cutoff wheels I got are marked for metal. They've got a max RPM listed at about 14,500. The grinder's RPM is 11,000.

Based on this little bit I'm able to find, it seems like I should be good to go, but I'm not sure if I'm missing something. I searched this site as well and wasn't able to come up with a hard answer. My apologies if I've missed anything obvious. As I said, I'm a total newbie to this tool. I want to be safe and playing by the rules. If I'm not 100% okay using this grinder for cutoff wheels, I'd also like to return it before I use it on anything.