Saw Blade Steel (L6)

Is anyone using L6 (saw blade steel) in there knife making. I have been recycling old saw blades and making wood carving knives from them. I find the tempering to be correct and they hold an edge very well. There is a company on the internet, Sawtooth knife co. that makes knives from circular saw blades. Any input?

Lightman
I am using steel from bandsaw blades that come from Boise Cascade Log Mills.
I believe this to be L-6.
They work up pretty good although hard to anneal so I go through a lot of sanding belts.The blades will harden so when you drop 1 it breaks.Take a look at some on powerpoint. http://albums.photopoint.com/j/AlbumIndex?u=93866&a=808330
<a href="http://albums.photopoint.com/j/AlbumIndex?u=93866&a=808330">
See my photos of Knives at PhotoPoint</a>

I've been using L6 from old saw blades for 4 years now. To anneal it you have to heat it up and then let it cool very slowly.
Tj, if your knife's point is breaking just from dropping it, then it must not have been properly tempered. I just made one that I sent to Mike for the 9" test.It was heat treated by Rob Simonich. Just to see for myself, I dropped it tip down from 42" high into concrete. All it did was put a couple small dings in the cutting edge at the tip.They buffed right out. If you have a lumber mill in your area, and the owner likes knives, you have a cheap source for good steel. I gave two skinners for a 52" blade and two others a bit smaller and 15 more that were 18" diameter, and about 20 foot of bandsaw blade. I still haven't used it all. What a deal!!!!!
------------------
"Always think of your fellow knife makers as partners in the search for the perfect blade, not as people trying to compete with you and your work!"

[This message has been edited by L6STEEL (edited 11 December 1999).]

[This message has been edited by L6STEEL (edited 11 December 1999).]