Schrade Waldon honesteel

I have come across an Old Timer Schrade Waldon Honesteel that is in the orig box with the instructions and in the orig sheath...7 inches long...looks like it has never been used instructions say it can be used for other things like a chisel etc, can anyone tell me anything about it without pictures,,I am having a hard time getting photos on here...I can send them email however.

It is a Schrade Hone Steel. The chisel end was designed to break a deers pelvic bone. I had one for years and sold about a year ago. Remember it's a sharpening steel and is not a diamond rod. It will re-align the edge but not remove any metal.

Thanks for the info, the paper inside the box said they were "coming into the space age" with this one. ..I would imagine they made and sold a lot of these but it is kind of neat...my father-in-law kept every box anything ever came in...how old do you think it may be, are they of interest to collectors...thanks for you help,I am a newbie at this

G'day Roney..If you refer to the thread..'I cant bring myself to use one of these"..I have just re-introduced....you will see Brady's excellent example of the Schrade Walden Honesteel and some more info...Hoo Roo

HS1 Honesteel Research

The Schrade HS1 Honesteel was a unique knife sharpener which came boxed with a sheath, leather thong, and use instruction sheet. According to the Schrade instructions, its uses are; General sharpening on most cutting tools, Cracking Deer Pelvis, Wood Splitting and as a fish "billy". Touted by Schrade as "The Lazy Mans way to Sharpen", they were designed to be used without the need for oil or wetting agent. The unique sheath is designed as a handle for easier sharpening.