Seeking Kissing Crane information

I just got a Kissing Crane pocket knife that I am trying to authenticate and identify but having some trouble finding any information. It is a four blade knife with stampings on two of the tangs and a round kissing crane emblem which is red with silver cranes. Any help and info would be appreciated.

"Congress" pattern.
I don't know more than that. It look legitimate to me, but I'm no expert.
The tang stamp has "Solgien" so it was made in Germany of German components.
I understand there are a lot of strict rules and restrictions to put that city on a knife.
I've heard the Boker knives made in Solgien, but use parts and components manufactured or produced outside Germany, can't have "Solgien" tang stamps. (no Solgien stamped Boker with factory Abalone, MOP, Mastodon, Camel Bone, Warthog/Wildebeest/Walrus/Ivory/ Water Buffalo, Ebony, Teak, Brazilian Rosewood, etc. covers, I guess ...)

What he said, Robert Klaas Germany, Stag Congress probably late c20th early 21st. Two Sheepfoot, two Pen blades. But it's SOLINGEN the town of manufacture ;)

I bought the same knife in the 90's. It is a Solingen made Kissing Crane.

Last edited:
When it comes to Solingen-made knives, generally if it says 'Solingen' on the tang stamp it's a German made knife made of German parts. If it's stamped 'Germany' it's assembled in Germany of parts sourced globally. The stiletto style Kissing Cranes are made in Italy.

If you have the box it's a dead giveaway. If it says Kissing Cranes, it's a German made knife. Kissing Crane is Chinese. A shield with Kissing Crane is a Chinese knife.

That Congress pattern knife is made in Germany. It's stamped Robert Klass and Solingen, It has genuine stag scales (handles). It's probably around 30 years old. If it's 3 5/8" long it's a medium size; if 4" it's a large.

"Congress" pattern.
I don't know more than that. It look legitimate to me, but I'm no expert.