Seeking knife advice from pro's on whittling/woodcarving

Hi everyone, newbie here so feel free to let me know if this isn't posted in the right area or anything else I might be doing wrong including writing WAY too much (just went back and read everything I wrote) but I figured this was a good place to start.
Anyways, I'm just getting started in whittling and I've been looking at different knives for a week or two and I've narrowed it down to a few different patterns. First, the Case Seahorse appeals to me. I'm a fan of the look/function of a wharncliffe and the Seahorse has a nice blade on it. My only thoughts are how does it feel in your hand when using one of the secondary blades and you have that giant crescent sticking out of the handlel? Seems like it would be pretty uncomfortable. The other knife I'm interested in is a GEC 62 Maverick. All around a nice little pocket knife, good for whittling and a blade configuration that I'm fond of. However, the wharncliffe (what I would consider the main blade used in whittling, shares it's side with another blade. Enter the elusive GEC #62 Courthouse whittler. In my opinion this would be the "ultimate" blade configuration. Wharncliffe main blade using both springs of the secondary pen and coping blades. In a perfect world, this is what would be resting in my pocket on a daily basis. As luck would have it, I've found one for sale for $150 shipped. The issues I have with it, however, are that it has the Spring Tulip acrylic handle. Whule it does look rather beautiful, I prefer either a King wood or rosewood handle. Also, it is the Tidioute brand which is kind of the "base model" nothing fancy just a good plain knife, perfectly acceptable. Again, however, I'd prefer a Northfield because of its added craftsmanship and artistry. Also, this knife is one of only 11 made.