setting up home shop for small production run NEED ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey guys, I am a hobbyist knife maker who has tried many things (folders, full tangs, partial tangs, variety of materials, etc), but I am now considering getting set up for a small production run of a simple one or two blade slip-joint folder.

I intend to gather all the materials, make all needed jigs and patterns and then start methodically going through the steps to put 100 or so pieces together and sell them piece-by-piece on eBay.

I know some of the more advanced makers are doing this type of thing, and since I've never done it before, I thought I'd ask for some suggestions.

The knife I want to make is a single spear blade, slip joint with copper liners. Some of them will have bolsters, some will not. I was thinking of doing two blade types just to have some variety (like maybe a clip or sheepsfoot).

I want to get enough barstock in the closest width and thickness so I can just start scribing out the patterns and cut blanks as I go. I will also make a pattern for the liners and buy sheet copper for that.

I will probably use NS for the pins. I might put shields on some of them but not all of them.

Since this will be my first "production run", I think I will finally break down and order a stamp to mark the blades before heat treating. Any suggestion on who is best for pocketknife hand stamps?

If anyone would like to share any suggestions about this type of production, please let me know. Thanks.

Uncle Al; Riverside Machine for a stamp but....
Etching or a pantograph scribed mark would look better IMO.

For the parts, why not have them water jet cut??

Also, what kind of equipment do you have?

I agree get them cut out from plate by waterjet, you will lose all your money from profiling and cutting them out.