1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sharpening advice

Discussion in 'Maintenance, Tinkering & Embellishment' started by Lukealoop, Oct 12, 2018.

1. Lukealoop

Lukealoop

Oct 12, 2018
    so im pretty new to higher end knives and recently purchased an enzo trapper in elmax steel with a scandi grind and am wondering what would be a good system to sharpen this knife? doing my own research i first thought that the naniwa pro/chosera water stones would be great but then i found that perhaps the dmt duosharp diamond stones would be even better? and then maybe a strop to finish? if so whats a good strop and compounds that would work well after using the extra fine grit dmt stone? i already own a spyderco sharpmaker that i use on my other knives and thought that would work great to add a micro bevel if more durability is needed. any advice would be much appreciated since ive put a lot of time reseaching and am now more confused then when i started haha. im not worried about expense and just want a really really nice knife to use for bushcraft and hunting and want to do it right the first time. thaanks

2. WhitleyStu

WhitleyStu Keep'em scary sharp!!! Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Dec 8, 2006
    First off, welcome to BladeForums... Each of us has a favorite way of sharpening and favorite stones, strops, compounds or complete sharpening systems. The short answer is if you have experiences with free hand sharpening then individual stones are going to be fine. If not then a system with a jig like Lansky, Wicked Edge or one of the many other systems will help you get a consistent edge. Most any strop mounted on wood with green compound or stropping paste will finish the edge. This is just one of many opinions on sharpening and I am sure many will follow.

3. Wowbagger

Wowbagger

Sep 20, 2015
    Oh cool.
    Show us a photo.
    I like my Edge Pro by the way.