Sharpening Help Please

Alright so I'm fairly new to the sharpening scene and I need some help. All I have for sharpening equipment is the Spyderco Sharpmaker, and I've been sharpening my knives following Sal's steps. Now I have stumbled upon terms on these forums such as burrs and stropping. I've interpreted burrs as the metal you're sharpening sliding over to the other side of the knife that is not being sharpened at the moment, is this correct? As far as stropping goes would somebody please care to tell me what this is, and if I need to worry about it? If I have the right understanding of burrs, should I be following Sal's steps, alternating 25 strokes for each side of the knife, or should I only sharpen one side until I notice a burr, then switch till I notice another burr? I'm going to stop before I confuse myself....please help.

As you thin out the edge through sharpening, it tends to roll over, this is the burr. Once you've raised a burr on one side, switch over to the other sideand raise a burr there. Then move onto the next stones.

Stroping is to polish the final edge and remove any burr that's left. This will usually result in a very sharp, very polished edge. A strop is traditionally a piece of leather that the knife is passed against. I've always stropped edge trailing.

You can "load" the strop with polishing compound or use it dry. An old leather belt will suffice.

On the Sharpmaker it depends on how sharp the knife is to begin with. If it's on the dull side, I usually do one side until I raise a burr and then switch. If it just needs touched up it's fine to alternate sides. When the blade is still sharp, all you really need to do is align the edge, so alternating sides on the white stones will work fine beacuse you don't really want to remove any more steel than you have to.

The Sharpmaker video is very helpful, but I've always kinda been curious about how sharp those knives actually were to begin with. They couldn't have been too dull.

Jason B.