1. Washington action alert - Spring blade knife ban repeal thread. Hearing is Tues, Vote is Friday, let your voice be heard!

How To Sharpening m390 with sandpaper?

Discussion in 'Maintenance, Tinkering & Embellishment' started by Max Brosi, Dec 22, 2019.

1. Max Brosi

Max Brosi

Dec 22, 2019
    ok, I realise it’s a newbie question, but is it possible to sharpen m390 well using wet and dry sandpaper on a glass back, followed by a leather strop, or is the stuff just too hard. I’m used to sharpening chisels, planes, and carving gouges, but these are straight forward, I have little experience with knife blades, especially these new steels. I’ve just ordered a Lionsteel Barlow made from m390 and I’m planning on building a homemade sharpening jig to keep a consistent angle. I’ve heard rumours that you need diamond to sharpen m390??? I only have the small DMT credit card size diamond hones. Other than that I have king water stones, and a Smiths Trihone system. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. now

now

Dec 27, 2017
    Sandpaper will do fine.

3. If the edge geometry is decent and you're just looking to keep it as sharp as possible at that geometry, you're better off using those DMT hones, which can work in a minimum of passes. They'll do a better job with the vanadium carbides in the steel, once the apex is thinned and you start refining it.

Sandpaper (SiC) will do OK at coarser grit levels up to 400 or so, but it won't be much help in refining the edge past about 600-800 grit. At that point, the size of the carbides will start to limit how thin the apex can be made. The sandpaper will struggle to thin the carbides while eroding supporting steel around them (makes the edge less durable), and the edge will then begin to round off. By contrast, the diamond hone at 600-1200 grit will make a much easier job of it, cutting & thinning the carbides easily to a much better refinement and leaving them better supported.