Sharpening trouble based on abrasive

ejames13

Gold Member
I've been sharpening on the Edge Pro for a few years now and have become pretty familiar with the ins and outs. Still, I'm not as pleased with my resulting edges as I'd like, and a lot of it seems to depend on the type of stone I use.

I'm able to get a consistently sharp edge using the Chef Knives To Go diamond plate set (140 --> 400 --> 1200) regardless of steel type. I'm able to push cut newsprint with the grain straight off the 1200 grit stone without any stropping. After stropping with 3 micron diamond compound on leather I can push cut newsprint against the grain. There does seem to be a small amount of burr remaining, however, if I look at the edge at just the right angle under warm light. I have not yet perfected removing that completely. I can produce a similar edge with the stock Edge Pro stones with just the 220 --> 400 progression. Any remaining burr off the EP 400 stone is almost undetectable, if one exists at all.

Now here's where I'm confused. If I move on from the EP 400 stone to 600 or 1k grit, my edge is no longer sharp. Straight off the 400 I'm push cutting newsprint with the grain and it catching hair easily, but off the 600 or 1000 there is a noticeable degradation in sharpness, and the edge will no longer catch hair. I experience similar problems if I use the Shapton Glass stones in 500 --> 2k progression. I can sometimes get an edge that will almost push cut newsprint with the grain off the 2k stone, but it's not quite as clean as the edge I get from the EP 400 stone.

I imagine the issue has to be my technique, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Some preemptive answers to potential questions:
- I use a stop collar to adjust for stone thickness
- I flatten my stones with CKTG 140 diamond plate after every sharpening