Shifting pivot on Chaparral

Hi! I am pretty new to this subforum so thanks in advance for your help. I don't own many Spydercos but I recently picked up a mint condition Chaparral in Carbon Fiber. I was the third owner, with the first one carrying it and the second owner flipping it. The knife looks and works great but I noticed something peculiar. The pivot that the blade rotates on shifts within the scales. If I pinch both sides between my index and thumb, I can move it up and down, perpendicular to the scales.

When the blade is deployed there is no blade play. When it's closed, the blade is centered but I can move the tip up and down if I pinch the spine with my fingers.

Is this normal? It kind of bothers me because it doesn't "feel" normal but I am not knowledgeable enough to say why it's wrong of if this is broken. Is this some special pivot design by Spyderco?

I asked the first owner and he said he never noticed it and suggested the second owner may have taken the knife apart and perhaps broken some threadlocker on there. I asked the second owner and he denies any such thing.

Any help or insight would be appreciated.

^^^ worth a try cause that's a simple solution...

however, the Chap is engineered with very tight tolerances and so even with a loose pivot you shouldn't be seeing that kind of slop, IMHO.

almost sounds like you have a W&R issue...can you be certain the former owner<s> didn't disassemble the knife and monkey around with it?

When open the lock will keep the blade from moving even if you have a screw loose or a washer missing.